Rice University

Department of English

Graduate Students

 Adkins

Alexander Adkins
B.A. English, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
B.A. Philosophy, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Alexander.Adkins@rice.edu

 

 Beroiza

Alanna Beroiza
Sexuality and gender studies, feminist theory, 20th century studies
B.A. English, Bowdoin College
alanna.m.beroiza@rice.edu

 

 Biggs

Hannah Biggs
Rural and farm narrative, modernism, critical animal studies
B.A.s, English Literary Studies and Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, Otterbein University
hannah.biggs@rice.edu

 

  Bilhimer

Laura Bilhimer
B.A. English, University of Kansas
laura.e.bilhimer@rice.edu

 

 Boyd

Sydney Boyd
Twentieth-century literature, opera, sound theory
B.A. English and Music, University of Idaho
sboyd@rice.edu

 

 Butz

Larry Butz  
B.A. English, Michigan State University
larry.a.butz@rice.edu

 

 Carson

Joseph Carson 
Nineteenth century American literature, critical race and critical animal studies, biolpolitics and posthumanism
M.A. English, James Madison University
B.A. Theatre, James Madison University 
jtc5@rice.edu 

 Rice Shield

Paul Case 
M.A., James Madison University
B.A., Lynchburg University
Richard.P.Case@rice.edu

 

 Celeste

Mark Celeste
Victorian Literature & Culture, Marginalized Bodies, Soundscapes
M.A. English, Syracuse University
B.A. English, Penn State University
mc64@rice.edu 

 Lindsey Chappell

Lindsey Chappell
Time, Narrative, Romantic and Victorian Travel Writing
Dissertation Title: Temporal Forms in the Nineteenth-Century British Mediterranean 
M.A. English, University of Colorado, Boulder
B.A. English, William Jewell College
lindsey.n.chappell@rice.edu

 

 Rice Shield

Evan Choate
M.A. English, University of British Columbia
B.A. Philosophy Honours, University of British Columbia
evan.w.choate@rice.edu
Graduate Student Representative 2015-2016

 

 New Rachel

Rachel Conrad
American Literature 1850-1950, Histories of Illness, Contagion, Biopolitics, and Public Health
B.A. English, University of Vermont
rachel.b.conrad@rice.edu

 Ellis

Amanda Ellis
Chicana/o Literature, American Literature, Ethnic Studies
Dissertation Title: Detrás de Cada Letra: Trauma and Healing in Contemporary Chicana/o Literature
M.A., San Francisco State University 
B.S., Barry University
Ave1@rice.edu
  

 Ellis Etchison

John Ellis-Etchison
Dissertation Title: A Sovereign Menagerie: Political Theology and the Animal Turn in Early Modern Drama
 Renaissance drama, critical animal studies, and gender studies
M.A. Folklore Studies, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
B.A.s Political Science and English, Oklahoma Baptist University
jwe1@rice.edu

 

 New Jo

Joanna Fax
M.S., Teaching, Pace University (New York, NY)
B.A., Skidmore College
Joanna.M.Fax@rice.edu

 

 Gauthereau

Lorena Gauthereau
Chicano/a studies, print culture, transnational American studies
M.A. Hispanic Studies, Rice University
B.A. English and Political Science, Rice University
lorena@rice.edu

 

 New Abby

Abby Goode  
Nineteenth century American literature, sustainability, transnational American studies
Dissertation Title: Democratic Demographics: A Literary Genealogy of American Sustainability
M.S. Teaching, Pace University, New York, NY
B.A. English and Spanish, University of Vermont, Burlington, Vermont
alg9@rice.edu
  

 Graham

Sarah Graham  
B.A., University of Illinois

 

 Hagan

Jade Hagan
Literature and ecology, ontology and aesthetics, emergentism
M.A. Comparative Literature, University of Colorado Boulder
B.A. English, Tulane University
jlh20@rice.edu
 

 Niffy Hargrave Jennifer Hargrave
British Romanticism, Imperial Studies, Anglo-Sino Relations
Dissertation Title: The Romantic Reinvention of Imperial China, 1759–1857
M.A. English, University of Colorado, Boulder, CO
B.A. English, The Colorado College, Colorado Springs, CO
jennifer.hargrave@rice.edu
 Harvey

Margaret P. Harvey
Victorian literature and culture, gender, political economy
Dissertation Title: A Woman's Worth: Gendered Concepts of Value in Victorian Literature
B.A., The College of William and Mary
mph4@rice.edu
  

 Henry

Brittany Henry
B.A. English and Spanish, Texas A&M University
brittany.a.henry@rice.edu

 

 Hsu

Sophia Hsu
Victorian literature, biopolitics, liberalism
Dissertation Title: Genres of Population: Biopolitics and the Novel in a Liberal Age
B.A. English and Communication Studies, University of California, LA
sophia.l.hsu@rice.edu

 

 Rice Shield

Ryan Kehoe 
B.A. (summa cum laude with Honors Thesis), University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
marxist78@rice.edu

 

 Rice Shield

Joshua Kitching 
B.A., University of Pittsburgh
Joshua.S.Kitching@rice.edu

 

 Benjamin Kozicki

Benjamin Kozicki
B.A. English, Michigan State University
B.S. Human Biology, Michigan State University
benjamin.j.kozicki@rice.edu

 

 Annie Lowe  

Annie Lowe
M.A. English, University of Kansas
B.A. English, University of Central Missouri
annielowe@rice.edu

 

 Macellaro

Kimberly Macellaro   
B.A., M.A., Rutgers University
kam5@rice.edu

 

 Alex McAdams

Alexander McAdams
Early modern English literature, studies in gender and masculinity, literature and science
M.A. English, University of Massachusetts Boston
B.A. English, University of Mississippi
alexander.l.mcadams@rice.edu
Graduate Student Representative 2015-2016    

 Miller

Michael Miller
20th and 21st  century literature, experimental & avant-garde film, systems theory/theories of the posthuman
M.A. English, University of Louisville
B.A. English, University of Kentucky
mfm4@rice.edu
  

 Morton

Seth Morton
B.A. English & German, Michigan State University
Seth.A.Morton@rice.edu

 

 Rice Shield

Jon Nelson
M.A., B.A., Sam Houston State
Jon.N.Nelson@rice.edu

 

 Paula

Rodrigo Martini Paula
Modernisms, posthumanism, Vilem Flusser
M.A. English, University of Louisville
M.A. Letters, Sao Paulo State University
B.A. Translation Studies in English, Sao Paulo State University
rodrigo.m.paula@rice.edu

 

 Scott Pett Scott Allen Pett
Nineteenth-century American literature and culture, poetry and poetics, and membership politics (citizenship, immigration, nation)
M.A. English, Georgia State University
B.A. English, Brigham Young University
scott.a.pett@rice.edu
 
 Rice Shield

Mallory Pladus 
M.A. English and American Literature, Wake Forest University
B.A. English and American Literature, New York University
mallory.pladus@rice.edu

 

 Rice Shield

Suzanne Rindell
B.A, University of The Pacific
Suzanne.E.Rindell@rice.edu

 

 Rosenthall Karen Rosenthall
18th and 19th Century American literature, the rise of American capitalism and industrialization, early American political theory 
Dissertation Title: Novel Economies: a Literary Prehistory of Industrial Capitalism, 1730-1859
M.A., The John W. Draper Program of Humanities and Social Thought, New York University
B.A., The George Washington University
karen.m.rosenthall@rice.edu
 Rice Shield

Lindsay Sherrier
M.A. English, Tulane University
B.A. English, Tulane University
lindsay.e.sherrier@rice.edu
  

 New Elena

Elena Valdez
Chicana/o literary and cultural studies
B.A. English, University of New Mexico
evv1@rice.edu

 Rice Shield

Matthew Walker 
B.A., University of Houston
mww2@rice.edu

 

  Derek - New

Derek Woods
Dissertation Title: Trophic Diagrams: U.S. and Canadian Ecological Culture in the Great Acceleration
M.A. English, University of British Columbia
B.A. English, University of British Columbia
derek.j.woods@rice.edu

 

 Yates Richard

Meina Yates-Richard
B.A. English, University of Houston
Meina.F.Yates-Richard@rice.edu