Rice University

Department of English

Graduate Students

 Adkins

Alexander Adkins
B.A. English, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
B.A. Philosophy, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Alexander.Adkins@rice.edu

 

 New Dorita

Dorita Barr
20th and 21st century African American literature, feminist theory, and women, gender, and sexuality studies
B.A. English Arts, Hampton University
db34@rice.edu 
  

 Beroiza

Alanna Beroiza
Sexuality and gender studies, feminist theory, 20th century studies
B.A. English, Bowdoin College
alanna.m.beroiza@rice.edu

 

 Biggs

Hannah Biggs
Rural and farm narrative, modernism, critical animal studies
B.A.s, English Literary Studies and Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, Otterbein University
hannah.biggs@rice.edu

 

 Boyd

Sydney Boyd
Twentieth-century literature, opera, sound theory
B.A. English and Music, University of Idaho
sboyd@rice.edu

 

 Butz

Larry Butz  
B.A. English, Michigan State University
larry.a.butz@rice.edu

 

 Carson

Joseph Carson 
Nineteenth century American literature, critical race and critical animal studies, biolpolitics and posthumanism
M.A. English, James Madison University
B.A. Theatre, James Madison University 
jtc5@rice.edu 

 Rice Shield

Paul Case 
M.A., James Madison University
B.A., Lynchburg University
Richard.P.Case@rice.edu

 

 Celeste

Mark Celeste
Victorian Literature & Culture, Marginalized Bodies, Soundscapes
M.A. English, Syracuse University
B.A. English, Penn State University
mc64@rice.edu 

 Lindsey Chappell

Lindsey Chappell
M.A. English, University of Colorado, Boulder
B.A. English, William Jewell College
lindsey.n.chappell@rice.edu

 

 Rice Shield

Evan Choate
M.A. English, University of British Columbia
B.A. Philosophy Honours, University of British Columbia
evan.w.choate@rice.edu

 

 New Rachel

Rachel Conrad
Illness, identity, and biopolitics, Early twentieth-century literature, Transatlantic modernist poetics
B.A. English, University of Vermont
rachel.b.conrad@rice.edu

 Ellis

Amanda Ellis
Chicana/o Literature, American Literature, Ethnic Studies
Dissertation Title: Detrás de Cada Letra: Trauma and Healing in Contemporary Chicana/o Literature
M.A., San Francisco State University 
B.S., Barry University
Ave1@rice.edu
  

 Ellis Etchison

John Ellis-Etchison
Renaissance drama, critical animal studies, and gender studies
M.A. Folklore Studies, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
B.A.s Political Science and English, Oklahoma Baptist University
jwe1@rice.edu

 

 New Jo

Joanna Fax
M.S., Teaching, Pace University (New York, NY)
B.A., Skidmore College
Joanna.M.Fax@rice.edu

 

 Gauthereau

Lorena Gauthereau
Chicano/a studies, print culture, transnational American studies
M.A. Hispanic Studies, Rice University
B.A. English and Political Science, Rice University
lorena@rice.edu

 

 New Abby

Abby Goode  
Nineteenth century American literature, sustainability, transnational American studies
Dissertation Title: Democratic Demographics: A Literary Genealogy of American Sustainability
M.S. Teaching, Pace University, New York, NY
B.A. English and Spanish, University of Vermont, Burlington, Vermont
alg9@rice.edu
  

 Graham

Sarah Graham  
B.A., University of Illinois

 

 Hagan

Jade Hagan
Literature and ecology, ontology and aesthetics, emergentism
M.A. Comparative Literature, University of Colorado Boulder
B.A. English, Tulane University
jlh20@rice.edu
Graduate Student Representative 2014-2015
 

 New Niffy Jennifer Hargrave
British Romanticism, Imperial Studies, Anglo-Sino Relations
Dissertation Title: The Romantic Reinvention of Imperial China, 1759–1857
M.A. English, University of Colorado, Boulder, CO
B.A. English, The Colorado College, Colorado Springs, CO
jennifer.hargrave@rice.edu
 Harvey

Margaret P. Harvey
Victorian literature and culture, gender, political economy
Dissertation Title: A Woman's Worth: Gendered Concepts of Value in Victorian Literature
B.A., The College of William and Mary
mph4@rice.edu
  

 Henry

Brittany Henry
B.A. English and Spanish, Texas A&M University
brittany.a.henry@rice.edu

 

 Hsu

Sophia Hsu
Victorian literature, biopolitics, liberalism
Dissertation Title: Victorian Biopolitics: Life and the Novel in a Liberal Age
B.A. English and Communication Studies, University of California, LA
sophia.l.hsu@rice.edu

 

 Rice Shield

Ryan Kehoe 
B.A. (summa cum laude with Honors Thesis), University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
marxist78@rice.edu

 

 Rice Shield

Joshua Kitching 
B.A., University of Pittsburgh
Joshua.S.Kitching@rice.edu

 

 Benjamin Kozicki

Benjamin Kozicki
B.A. English, Michigan State University
B.S. Human Biology, Michigan State University
benjamin.j.kozicki@rice.edu

 

 Macellaro

Kimberly Macellaro   
B.A., M.A., Rutgers University
kam5@rice.edu

 

 Miller

Michael Miller
20th and 21st  century literature, experimental & avant-garde film, systems theory/theories of the posthuman
M.A. English, University of Louisville
B.A. English, University of Kentucky
mfm4@rice.edu
  

 Morton

Seth Morton
B.A. English & German, Michigan State University
Seth.A.Morton@rice.edu

 

 Rice Shield

Jon Nelson
M.A., B.A., Sam Houston State
Jon.N.Nelson@rice.edu

 

 Paula

Rodrigo Paula
M.A. English, University of Louisville
M.A. Letters, Sao Paulo State University
B.A. Translation Studies in English, Sao Paulo State University
rodrigo.m.paula@rice.edu

 

 Scott Pett Scott Allen Pett
M.A. English, Georgia State University
B.A. English, Brigham Young University
scott.a.pett@rice.edu
 
 Richardson

Laura K. Richardson 
Modernism, women's and gender studies, and poetics
Dissertation Title: Women's Authorship and the Institution of Modernism: Marianne Moore, Edith Sitwell, and Djuna Barnes
B.A., Vanderbilt University
Lkr1@rice.edu
  

 Rice Shield

Suzanne Rindell
B.A, University of The Pacific
Suzanne.E.Rindell@rice.edu

 

 Rosenthall Karen Rosenthall
19th century American and African-American literature, economics and political economic literary theory, regionalism and global / local studies
Dissertation Title: Novel Economy: the Overlooked Narratives of American Antebellum Exceptionalism
M.A., The John W. Draper Program of Humanities and Social Thought, New York University
B.A., The George Washington University
karen.m.rosenthall@rice.edu
 Saikin

Anna Dodson Saikin 
British romanticism, sound studies, feminist critique
Dissertation Title: Silence, Sentimentalism, and the British Romantic Novel, 1789–1824
B.A., University of Texas, Austin
atd2@rice.edu
  

 Seglie

AnaMaria Seglie
Nineteenth-century American literature, religion and literature, transnational American Studies
Dissertation Title: Sacred Dominion: Anti-Catholicism and the Romance of U.S. Imperialism 1827-1890
B.A., Creighton University
ats3@rice.edu
  

 Rice Shield

Lindsay Sherrier
M.A. English, Tulane University
B.A. English, Tulane University
lindsay.e.sherrier@rice.edu
  

 Rice Shield

Molly Slattery 
M.A., B.A., The State University of New York
slattery@rice.edu

 

 New Elena

Elena Valdez
Chicana/o literary and cultural studies
B.A. English, University of New Mexico
evv1@rice.edu
Graduate Student Representative 2014-2015 

 Rice Shield

Matthew Walker 
B.A., University of Houston
mww2@rice.edu

 

  Derek - New

Derek Woods
Dissertation Title: Trophic Diagrams: U.S. and Canadian Ecological Culture in the Great Acceleration
M.A. English, University of British Columbia
B.A. English, University of British Columbia
derek.j.woods@rice.edu

 

 Yates Richard

Meina Yates-Richard
B.A. English, University of Houston
Meina.F.Yates-Richard@rice.edu